Getting Lasik in Daegu, SK

TLDR; I would recommend Plaza Eye Center with Dr. Koo. The procedure was a success. Walk ins are welcome, Korean is not required. The Cost is 1.5 million won plus 100k won for tests. Located near Debec department store, specifically Hangaram Town. The nearest subways are Daegu Bank and Myeongdeok. Just see them after work and they’ll get you set up.

Pros and cons throughout the process: Cons would be that the price is a little expensive compared to other blogs I’ve read, and at first I was kinda pissed that I had to pay for those preliminary tests. The procedure was seamless, but I was in pain for the entire weekend. Also my doctor didn’t give me pain relievers TT TT cry cry or sedatives.The pros are that my doctor is very concerned with my healing process. I’ve seen him 4 times since the surgery (two weeks ago). These check ups are free. While my eyes are dry(due to the winter/heater, not some balked surgery) my vision is great. I just have to use drops for awhile. Also the clinic is pretty damn busy(but almost no wait time!). The environment is even a little chaotic, which might unsettle some people, but I take it as the clinic is reputable and in demand.

Interested? Here is some more detail.

Staff, setting an appointment and communicating in English: You do not need a Korean to help you book this or assist you. The staff have no expert English speakers but they are super friendly and will help you out. Communication was never an issue. No need to book in advance, and if you were to call I’d think you’d run into more trouble with communication over the phone. I arrived with no appointment on a Monday around 5 or 5:30. I got my initial tests that day and was able to set up more tests and eventually the procedure. I’m still seeing my doctor for post check ups and the staff are really sweet, know my name and are not bothered at all that I don’t speak Korean. Granted, if you want a staff and doctor that speak perfect English, look elsewhere I guess. Communicating was no trouble for me though.

Doctor: He’s a normal guy, normal doctor. Dr.Goo said he’s performed somewhere around 500 surgeries or more. As I said above, he’s seen me regularly after my surgery, and I appreciate it. It makes me glad I didn’t do some 600k lasik run to Seoul.

Cost: 1.5 million for the surgery and about 100k for tests. 1.5 was definitely my budget for the procedure. I’ve heard of paying 1.3 for everything. The price isn’t cheap, but still fair. Check ups are free. Medication is super cheap.

Procedure and possibly wigging out: The procedure was the most horrifying experience in my life. You don’t receive any sedatives. They only numb your eyes. I feel like the procedure was very safe, but it’s crucial that you keep your cool. It is essential to breathe, you have nothing else to calm you down. You need to calm down, not because of pain but because you go temporarily blind. Your instincts are definitely on alert and telling you to run for it. I would not recommend this to any person that is apt to anxiety. Still, it’s doable, a ton of people do it. I was silently wigging out, but made no sudden movements. Dr.Koo said I was a great patient.

Pain: There will be pain. During the surgery there is some, for sure, but nothing throbbing or too sharp. The evening after surgery was painful. The procedure was Friday and the weekend was painful off and on. When I woke up was the worst. So while most blogs say the pain is just for the evening, it well persisted for me the entire weekend. The first two weeks my eyes were pretty sensitive and dry. I’m healing, no worries.

Before lasik requirements: No contacts for two weeks. No eye makeup for 3 days to a week. No makeup,perfumes or lotions the day of surgery(anything with slight fumes is a no go).

Medications and post Lasik instructions: Oral meds three days(three times a day). Drops for up to four weeks. Sleeping shields/goggles for a week. They’re real cute. Don’t drink the day before, day of , and day after surgery. I resumed wearing eye makeup two weeks after the surgery. I wanted to be conservative on that end. 

Post Lasik checkups: The day after surgery, three days after surgery, the week after surgery, two weeks after surgery, four weeks after surgery, 2 months after surgery. Basically be mindful for a full month after surgery about a long vaca of some sort.

My suggestions on if to get Lasik and timing your procedure: I absolutely recommend lasik. If you prefer yourself without classes and won’t miss them (or are willing to rock some falsies occasionally) then get it done. There’s no discussion on this. Complications are minor/fixable. Cost( in Korea) is cheap, especially when factoring glasses, contacts and eye doctor costs normally. Contacts had been a pain for me, but even if you’re eyes take em well, still, get lasik. The biggest issue is if you’ll freak out under the knife( it’s not a knife but yeah they slice into your eye a bit.) Also, timing is really crucial as you can have minimal fun for up to three months lets say( no skiing, swimming, etc). Last thing, my eyes have not been handling the dry winter. I would recommend getting the procedure right after your summer vacation.

How to get to Plaza Eye Center?

If any of the bus numbers below are familiar to you then you’re in luck. All of these will take you to the Hanagram Town bus stop.

Buses that go to Plaza Eye Center.

Buses that go to Plaza Eye Center.

Plaza Eye Center is on the outskirts of the posh Beomo district and is caddy corner to the Debec department store.

If the bus isn’t feasible, take the green line to Daegu Bank and hail a cab for Hanagram Town. If the driver is unsure, then they will definitely know Debec. As of writing this post, the third metro line is being build and runs parallel to the street Plaza is on.

hanplaza

Here it is.

Leave a comment